R.I.P. Kurt Vonnegut Jr., 1922-2007

“So it goes…”

4 thoughts on “R.I.P. Kurt Vonnegut Jr., 1922-2007

  1. It’s amazing, this man was one of the most brilliant writers of the 20th century, yet, when I hear his name, the first words that come to mind are the same ones posted above: “So it goes”

    So simple, yet powerful enough that 11 years after I first read them in Slaughterhouse 5, “so it goes” and Kurt Vonnegut are permanently welded together in my mind.

    It’s too bad he was a Yank, because if he happened to be from across the pond, that mug would’ve fit perfectly in the “Big Book of British Smiles”

    R.I.P.

  2. Here we are, trapped in the amber of the moment. There is no why.

    K.V.

    “Free to move, speak, extemporize, and yet. We have not been cut loose. Our truancy is defined by one fixed star, and our drift represents merely a slight change of angle to it: we may seize the moment, toss it around while the moment pass, a short dash here, an exploration there, but we are brought round full circle to face again the single immutable fact–that we, Rosencrantz and Guildenstern, bearing a letter from one king to another, are taking Hamlet to England.”

    T.S.

    Great Minds Think Alike.

  3. Thanks to KV, everytime I see an asterix I think of an anus. I hope this still makes him laugh, wherever he’s at now.

    *

  4. Re: “So it goes.” I actually think of “Hi-ho.” which is the repeated phrase in SLAPSTICK and the key to some of the slickest foreshadowing I’ve ever seen in a novel.

Leave a Reply

