Wednesday’s Song


Cough cough, oh man what a night, another too-early morning here at the
FSD offices, hey Bones, howdy Gibbs, whassup Floss, hello there Legend
of Street Dog
let me pat your head…good boy! Anyhow time to get to…eh,
what’s this? What’s that song coming out of Renee the intern’s
cubicle…why, I haven’t heard that song since I was a wee lad in the
early 80’s playing the Donkey Kong machine on super-sunny afternoons at
the Shop’n’Bag off of Philadelphia Pike in Wilmington, Delaware…waxed floors, frozenfood chills, and the smell of brownpulp paper bags…this is some real Supermarket Memories you got going on here, kid! Renee gets up, smiles, hands me a Snickers bar, pulls up a chair and says sit down and listen to this song with me again. You should too. And so, Snickers in hand and my hand on my heart, here comes “City of New Orleans” by Arlo Guthrie.

Take it away, boys.

City of New Orleans

Leave a Reply

